What's in a name - cuidado com as nomenclaturas

kingdom

1st Folding then Sex
Boas,

Ao ver os e-mails de hoje, encontrei este artigo que acho muito interessante para partilhar convosco, visto que por vezes surgem duvidas acerca das nomenclaturas a utilizar quando falamos de um software. Existem tambem casos de preguiça, que fazem com que se escreva 'Gnome' ou 'gnome' em vez de 'GNOME'. Leiam o artigo e fiquem a perceber o porquê de tudo isto...

The Linux community is all about standardization this year. The Linux Standard Base is gathering steam, the Portland project is trying to bring unity to the desktops, and the Open Document Format (ODF) has been in the news quite a bit. Now if we could just get projects to agree on standard usage for naming, I'd be a happy camper.

I've been writing about Linux for about seven years, and while the technology is a never-ending source of joy for me, the nomenclature can be a writer and copy editor's nightmare.

As an editor and writer, I try to stick with the usage dictated by a project, but that's often difficult. Many projects don't agree on their usage on their own Web sites, documentation, and mailing lists. For example, on the Xpdf site, you see Xpdf and xpdf used interchangeably. On the KPDF site, KPDF and kpdf are also used interchangeably. Even though MySQL AB has managed consistent usage of MySQL, I frequently see articles that use Mysql and mySQL.

I could go on, but finding inconsistent usage of nonstandard names for software is not a challenge -- finding consistent usage is. The solution is not to rigidly enforce the usage of nonstandard names, but to encourage the adoption of names that work without requiring anyone to sit with a style guide in their lap while working.

I'm not the only person who has noticed this. While I was working on this commentary, I noticed this discussion between GNOME developers about the "proper" usage of GNOME.